Oatmeal Cremepie Copycat

Okay, not exactly.  They’re spicier.  They’re butterscotchier.  They’re lower in sugar!  Don’t fight it.

 

I know, I know.  They’re chunky.  They don’t even have any creme filling, how could they be a copycat for Oatmeal Cremepies?  I can’t explain it myself, but it just works.  I stumbled upon a recipe for some delicious Soft and Chewy Oatmeal Scotchies at Avery Cooks (averiecooks.com/…/soft-and-chewy-oatmeal-scotchies-cookies), and I attempted to make a cookie based on this recipe while altering some of the recipes to decrease the sugar content.  The result?  Delightful.  The first few bites were a little strange, but in a very good and intriguing way.  The cookies were spicier than I had anticipated with the considerable amount of nutmeg.  And then there was that familiar flavor.  I couldn’t put my finger on it at first, but by the time I finished the second cookie, I knew what it was… Little Debbie Oatmeal Cremepies.

I announced my creation to my husband, who upon trying one said, “You even got the tecture right!”  It’s true.  The cookies hold together perfectly, but are a little ooey-gooey-chewey.  You don’t even miss the creme filling.  I half considered some sort of filling for future endeavors, perhaps a buttercream?  But no.  I thought these were great just the way they were.  My photography leaves something to be desired here.  I’ll try to replace these photos with better ones in the future, but no guaruntees.  These suckers don’t last long!

 

Ingredients:

  •  1 large egg
  •  1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick)
  •  1/2 cup reduced sugar syrup
  •  1/4 cup granulated sugar
  •  1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  •  1 1/2 cups old-fashioned whole rolled oats (not instant or quick cook)
  •  3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  •  2 teaspoons cinnamon
  •  3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  •  1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  •  pinch salt, optional and to taste
  •  3/4 cup butterscotch chips
  •  1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

 

Directions:

  1.   Combine egg, butter, syrup, sugar, and vanilla.  Cream until light and fluffy.
  2.   Add oats, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, salt.  Stir until just mixed, and add butterscotch and chocolate chips.  Scoop small mounds (1-2 T) onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Chill three hours to five days before baking.
  3.   Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Bake 9-10 minutes, until just set.  Cookies firm up after cooling.

 

Piece of pie!

 

Nutrition Facts
Servings 20.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 163
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 9 g 13 %
Saturated Fat 6 g 28 %
Monounsaturated Fat 1 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 21 mg 7 %
Sodium 55 mg 2 %
Potassium 37 mg 1 %
Total Carbohydrate 19 g 6 %
Dietary Fiber 1 g 4 %
Sugars 10 g
Protein 2 g 3 %
Vitamin A 3 %
Vitamin C 0 %
Calcium 2 %
Iron 4 %
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

